APC’s Buhari Leads After INEC Announced Results of 12 States

Muhammadu Buhari of the All Progressive Congress (APC) is leading the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Atiku Abubakar in the race of the 2019 presidency. 

According to the results of 11 States and the FCT as collated by INEC so far, President Buhari is leading with over 200,000 votes.

The incumbent president has won in 7 states including – Osun, Kogi, Ekiti, Yobe, Nasarawa, Gombe and Kwara while the opposition candidate has won 4 states and the FCT. The states won by Atiku include – Abia, Ondo, Enugu, and Ebonyi.

In Ekiti, President Buhari conquered the PDP candidate by 65,199 votes after polling a total 219,231 votes as against Atiku’s 154,032 votes cast.

According to the INEC Returning Officer and the Vice Chancellor of the University of Ibadan, Professor Idowu Olayinka, the total number of registered voters in the state is 899,919 and the total number of accredited voters is 395,741.

In Osun, Buhari polled 347,634 votes, defeating Atiku who polled 337,377 votes, with the APC candidate leading with a margin of 10,257.

In Kwara State, Buhari polled 308,984 votes to defeat Atiku who scored 138, 284 votes. The win continued in Gombe where the President Polled 402,961 to Atiku’s  138,484.

Kogi State was not any different as the APC flagbearer scored 285,894 to the PDP’s 218,207

The total number of registered voters being 1,640,449, total no of accredited voters being 570,773. Total votes were set at 553,496 while the total the total valid votes were 521,016; 32,480 votes were rendered void.

In Nasarawa State, the APC polled 289,903 while the PDP polled 283,847.

However, Atiku defeated Buhari in the Federal Capital Territory after polling a total of 259 997 votes against Buhari’s 152,224. The total votes cast in the FCT is put at 451, 408.

Atiku also defeated the President in Abia where he polled 219,698 to Buhari’s 85,058.

In Ondo, the former Vice President defeated Buhari by polling 275,901 votes as against his opponent’s 241,769 votes.

Ebonyi experienced the same wide margin, with the PDP polling 258,573 votes as against the APC’s 90726 votes.

More results of the presidential election have been announced in different states, however, the official announcement of those results will be made at the INEC Collation Centre in the nation’s capital, Abuja.

The collation centre was officially opened on Sunday, February 24, but the collation of results did not commence until Monday.

With 12 states collated on Monday, the INEC adjourned its collation session and is expected to resume today, Tuesday, February 26.

Share this post on Flipboad |
Related Posts