Tinubu Appoints New Governing Councils And Boards For Federal Tertiary Institutions

FG appoints new Governing Councils for tertiary institutions

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has authorized the reformation of governing councils and boards for federal universities, polytechnics, and colleges of education nationwide.

According to a statement by the Permanent Secretary, General Services Office, Nnamdi Mbaeri, the appointments aim to ensure effective management of Nigerian tertiary institutions.

This reconstitution follows President Tinubu’s directive to review and update the previous list of council members, which had faced criticism from the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) and other stakeholders for alleged imbalances.

Notable appointees include:

  • Chief Bisi Akande, Chairman, University of Ibadan
  • Wole Olanipekun, SAN, Chairman, University of Lagos
  • Isa Yuguda, Chairman, National Open University of Nigeria
  • Yayale Ahmed, Chairman, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria
  • Joy Emordi, Chairman, Alvan Ikoku Federal University of Education, Owerri

The full list of appointees includes:

  • Air Cdr Emmanuel Jekada, Chairman, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University
  • Dr Tony Nebo, Chairman, Alex Ekwueme University
  • Hon Yusuf Ademola Ganiat, Chairman, Adeyemi Federal University of Education
  • Senator Nora Ladi Daddut, Chairman, Federal University of Technology, Akure
  • Oba Abdulrasheed Ayotunde, Chairman, Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta

The appointments aim to enhance the governance and management of federal tertiary institutions across the country.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts