Be the first to get an update on this story!

Join our Channel...

Whatsapp Channel

Governor Soludo sacks 21 Anambra transition committee chairmen

Soludo sacks 21 Anambra transition committee chairmen

Governor Chukwuma Soludo of Anambra State has dismissed the transition Committee chairmen of the state’s 21 local government areas, effective Monday. This decision was communicated through a letter from the Commissioner for Local Government, Chieftaincy, and Community Affairs, TonyCollins Nwabunwanne, dated May 17, 2024. 

The letter instructed the outgoing chairmen to transfer their responsibilities to the Heads of Local Government Administration (HLGA) by Monday, May 20, 2024. The letter read, “Following the expiration of your tenure as Transition Committee Chairman, you are hereby directed to hand over the affairs of your Local Government Council (LGA) to the Head of Local Government Administration (HLGA) in your respective Local Government Councils. This directive takes effect (will be implemented) from Monday, 20th day of May, 2024. Thank you for your service to the state.”

Recently, Governor Soludo called on All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) stakeholders to nominate new candidates for the Transition Committees in the 21 local government areas. He specified that each council should propose three nominees, including at least one woman. This directive was relayed to the current Transition Committee chairmen by Dr. Alex Obiogbolu, Special Adviser to the Governor on Political Matters.

Dr. Obiogbolu’s directive urged local party stakeholders to convene and recommend three candidates for the position of Transition Committee Chairman and three for Local Government Education Secretaries. “The three recommendations for Transition Committee Chairmen (TCC) shall include at least one woman, while the three recommendations for Education Secretary shall be two women and one man,” he stated.

Reports indicate that the nominations from the local government areas have been compiled and are expected to be announced by the governor soon. It is also noted that some of the outgoing transition committee chairmen have been included in the new list.

This Article is Fact-Checked. See Policy.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts