Get Paid to Read News Everyday!

Sign up below...

Whatsapp Channel

AMAA : 17th Africa Film Academy Awards Opens Nominations

IMG 20210410 WA0001 REPORT AFRIQUE International AMAA : 17th Africa Film Academy Awards Opens Nominations

The submissions period for the 17th Edition of the AMA Awards is now open until July 31, 2021. The deadline for early submissions is scheduled for May 31, 2021 while the deadline for late entry is 31st of July 2021. Nominations will be announced on 30th of September 2021, while the event will now hold in November 2021.

Africa Film Academy, organizers of the premier and the most prestigious movie award in Africa is now accepting submissions for the 17th Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAAs). The AMA Awards is widely known throughout the globe for its reputation in rewarding the brilliance of players in the African movie industry.

The Africa Film Academy invites filmmakers to submit their feature, short, animation and documentary works for consideration in nearly 30 film categories of the awards. This submission is opened to only films produced and released between January 2020 and July 31st, 2021 (the last day of submission).

In 2020, the 16th edition of the AMAA’s was held virtually due to the ravaging pandemic (COVID-19) and was joined by filmmakers from different part of the world. During the event, Nigeria’s “The Milkmaid” which was directed by Desmond Ovbiagele carted away four awards, winning NFVCB Award for Nigerian Best Film in the process. Haitian-American Actor, Jimmy Jean-Louis won the “Best Actor in a Leading Role” for the role he played in the Denis Cougnaud-produced movie, Desrances.

Nigerian actor, Ramsey Noah also won the award for best actor in a supporting role for his role in “Living in Bondage”, while Faith Fidel won the AMAA 2020 Award for Best Young/Promising Actor. The AMAA 2020 Awards for the Best Film went to the Movie, Milkmaid.

Each completed entry form for 2021 entries must be accompanied by all the supporting materials listed on the submission forms, including the synopsis of the film, the list of credits, marketing stills of the film, filmographies of the directors and producers, copies of the film in 3DVDS or a hard drive plus a compulsory online submission via vimeo / we transfer, proof of the right to submit and active contact details of anticipated nominees.

All films must indicate the year of copyright. The Africa Film Academy will not accept any film that exceeds the 120-minute run as a feature or a short film that is longer than 40 minutes. AMAA awards two major categories of short films and animation. The Academy also awards the category for Best Africa Film in the Diaspora and Best Diaspora Short Film Awards inclusive of Caribbean Shorts and Caribbean features.


The Africa Movie Academy Awards was founded in 2005. Mostly held annually in Nigeria, the AMAAs is without doubt becoming the most prestigious and glamorous African entertainment industry event of its kind. Evolving from a one day event — televised live — to an annually chronicled African event, the AMA Awards is now an established engagement platform for filmmakers, industry professionals and all creative industry stakeholders. The primary aim of the AMA Awards is to facilitate the development and showcase the social relevance of African film and cinema.

Over the years, the award presentation has been attended by numerous international media representatives, Hollywood celebrities, Nigerian politicians, other African politicians, journalists, film industry professionals, and actors and actresses from across Africa.

International submissions can be made on

This Article is Fact-Checked. See Policy.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts