Chief Justice of Nigeria Swears in Eberechi Wike, 21 Others as Appeal Court Justices

Wike's wife to be sworn in wednesday as Appeal Court Judge

The Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, is set to swear in Eberechi Suzette Wike, the wife of the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike, along with 21 other newly appointed justices to the Court of Appeal.

This significant ceremony will take place on Wednesday at the Supreme Court, marking a key milestone for the judiciary and the nation’s legal system.

The CJN will also inaugurate 12 legal practitioners as judges of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) High Court on the same day. Dr. Akande Festus, Director of Information & Public Relations at the Supreme Court, released a statement identifying the new appointees to the Court of Appeal. The appointees are:

Abdullahi Muhammad Liman from Nasarawa State
Abiodun Azeem Akinyemi from Ogun State
Olukayode Adegbola Adeniyi from Oyo State
Zainab Bage Abubakar from Kebbi State
Isaq Mohammed Sani from Kaduna State
Lateef Babajide Lawal-Akapo from Lagos State
Ngozika U. Okaisabor from Imo State
Donatus Nwaezuoke Okorowo from Enugu State
Ruqayat Oremei Ayoola from Kogi State
Polycarp Terna Kwahar from Benue State
Eberechi Suzette Nyesom-Wike from Rivers State
Fadawa Umaru from Borno State
Oyewumi Oyejoju Oyebiola from Oyo State
Ntong Festus Ntong from Akwa Ibom State
Nehizena Idemudia Afolabi from Edo State
Nnamdi Okwy Dimgba from Abia State
Abdu Dogo from Federal Capital Territory, Abuja
Abdulazeez M. Anka from Zamfara State
Owibunkeonye Onwosi from Ebonyi State
Asma’u Akanbi-Yusuf from Kwara State
Victoria Toochukwu Nwoye from Anambra State
Enenche Eleojo from Kogi State
The newly appointed judges for the FCT High Court are:

Buetnaan Mandy Bassi from Plateau State
Ademuyiwa Olakunle Oyeyipo from Kwara State
Bamodu Odunayo Olutomi from Lagos State
Iheabunike Anumaenwe Godwin from Imo State
Odo Celestine Obinna from Enugu State
Hauwa Lawal Gummi from Zamfara State
Sarah Benjamin Inesu Avoh from Bayelsa State
Maryam Iye Yusuf from Kogi State
Ariwoola Oluwakemi Victoria from Oyo State
Lesley Nkesi Belema Wike from Rivers State
Ibrahim Tanko Munirat from Bauchi State
Abdulrahman Usman from Taraba State

Previously, it was reported that Eberechi Suzette Wike and 21 others were on the final list of candidates for the Court of Appeal. The President of the Court of Appeal, Hon. Justice M.B Dongban-Mensem, had requested the appointment of these 22 new justices, including Wike.

Members of the Federal Judicial Service Commission (FJSC) had recommended these nominations to the National Judicial Council (NJC), prioritizing them for appointment. Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, who heads both the FJSC and the NJC, will officiate the swearing-in ceremony.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts